The “Stingy” Church

  • I have a lot in my mind to say but they are so much I don’t know where to start from, but firstly let me say this. I believe so much that the church is the place where we worship our God almighty, and also I see the church as the abode of Gods presence especially when his children gather together in fellowship to the glory of God.
    I have been to several churches right from the day that I was born and there is this one thing I have always sought so well to find but always lacking, to the extent I am begining to wonder if without we can really say we have a church. That thing I am talking about is True Love.
    When the topic: Love is brought to the table of discussion amongst Christians, it is hastened up, people begin to drag their feet, even when some talk,they don’t say the facts to detail but rather they specialize in roaming in circles around the main issue. This is very appalling and so embarassing.
    The main essence of church ” Love and Fellowship” is no longer an important matter anymore.
    When we love, we care , we are concerned about others, we share, we don’t look down on others, we are sincere, its a sign of holiness, we don’t judge, we don’t suspect, we tolerate others, we don’t curse or haul out insults, we encourage, we don’t take advantage of other people, and so on.
    I feel a true church should care less about building structures, and care more about building lives. A true church ought to realize that without the people there is no church and so the people are the church. A true church should care a lot about the welfare of her members by ensuring that none is found wanting in terms of their daily living, lifestyle, economic, spiritual, social and material needs. A true church would see the great commission as a primary and essential factor to her objectives. What am I saying?, In short a true church should be the bedrock or foundation of every individual resonating into a better and a more organized society.
    Is this what we find today in our present day churches? I ask this pertinent question because I feel so much pain within when I see the rot and decadence that decorates our society and immediate environment. I shout! And am forced to assume or would I say conclude that the major cause of our problems today is the Church.
    Though I stand on this premise that there is nothing impossible with God Almighty who knows the end from the beginning.
    Looking at these trend you would find an act that can be well described by the word “Stingy”. What does it mean to be stingy? I would say its the act of not giving easily i.e. being covetous. Not been generous. Ok. Now can we say that the church of today dully obeys the scriptures to the letter when the Bible says it is better to give than to receive? When a member(s) in your church is(are) in need, is the church hasty to help that individual(s)?, as the case may be, or they drag their feet until the need is met somehow from a different source.
    -Pls tell us what’s the situation like in your church and those churches around you.
    -Do share with us your experience if you have and we would learn.
    -Is your church a stingy church? let’s know why you feel so.
    -How can we remedy this situation ravaging churches today and its growth.
    -What role would you play to stem the tide of stinginess in church members and the church as a whole?

Your comments goes a long way to help other people learn and for us all to work in ensuring the best change churches would need to attain greater heights to the glory of God.

Thank you.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a comment